A little bit of me

September 11, 2008

Today I wish to write something not about spirituality, self-improvement, intuition, psychic or Maria Duval.

A friend of mine is very talkative who will just talk anything that comes to her mind. Anything. Last week she proceeded to tell me about her colon cleanse! Yeah, that is what I thought too! Just a bit to much information!

She is a great friend and really doesn’t care who she tells what to! My poor mom has to leave when she comes over cause she doesn’t know what to make of her. I have known her for five years and sometimes I still scratch my head in amazement as well. I am not sure if she does it to get a rise out of people or if she really doesn’t care what people think! She would give the shirt off her back to anyone who needed it and that it what counts!

Off to another roving thought.

When I was a kid, one of my favorite things to do was horseback riding. I used to go ever weekend and loved being around the horses at my uncle’s ranch. I always enjoyed going there, and wouldn’t want to come back. I was always a lot of work getting ready to go out but I always felt free and at ease. Now, I can’t even imagine myself climbing on to one of those saddles! It has been years, probably about 25 years, actually 20 years ago I was 12 and I was younger than that! Maybe someday I will have the chance to do it one more time, you never know.

What were the things you used to do as a kid that you no longer do? Maybe because it isn’t available or because it has been so long that your not sure that you could even do it. Please do share!

Mastering self-confidence

September 11, 2008

People want to be self-confident about themselves. Self confidence is said to be the key to success in life but why there are so few self confident people around?

One reason I think of is that it is not something that can be acquired naturally or memorized books about self confidence. But it can be guided with the help of self improvement gurus.

Maria Duval notes that self-confidence is an important aspect of emotional intelligence and is also a strong foundation to a successful life.

There is this myth which is looking good externally is the cure all for lack of self confidence. Therefore, many start go for procedures like cosmetic surgeries, better hairdos, cell regenerations or losing weights. Yes I admit doing through these will make a person feel good and i think that is still not everything to be a self confident person.

I think truly being self confidence comes from being happy, contented and mind filled with good positive thoughts. These are basic ingredients to making the right choices and laying steps for more self confidence. So in short, it’s a habit thing.

How to develop habits for self confidence?
First, there is an important need to grow your self awareness. This means aware of your emotions, reactions and physical body language. When you are sad, panicky, angry, anxious or feeling depressed, you need to be self aware of these negative emotions going through you now. Assert these bad emotions and do trainings to throw them off from you as fast as you can. Force yourself to think positive rather than negative at all times.

The Mind

The mind is an extremely powerful factor in developing self confidence. If you wish to be self confident, there is a need to master your mind and use it for personal good. Negative thoughts are detrimental to your highly adaptive mind, so refrain from it. One who is learning to become self-confident must inculcate in his mind that he has self-esteem and truly believe in it and become the second nature.

Master these traits
Drop “I can’t do this or that” attitude. I remember when I was a shy teen, I used these few words often..ehh…how many times a day?

Stop putting yourself down and think you are not as capable as other people. Get rid of this inferiority complex. With it around, you won’t feel self confident no matter how gorgeous you may be physically. Refrain from “who am i for them to listen to my advice?”

Finally, Maria Duval sums up sweetly that a person who is truly confident about himself is the person who believes in himself. Remember, self confidence is a habit that can be picked up over times as long as one is conscious and aware of your own emotions.