Mission Statement

December 28, 2008

Post ChristmasHope you have a great Christmas!

Today I have written my “mission statement”, or life purpose, which whatever you may want to call it. Yes, this is a bold stance on my part because I have never wanted to commit anything, so I was like awed and wow of myself.

Still I got some limiting beliefs about it, so does that mean it really isn’t something I want to have in life? Am I being too committed?

A niggling thought: how will I live it now? What changes do I have to make in life? Do I have to be holy?

On the other hand, I feel peace and it truly feels like a Divine Inspiration flowing THROUGH me.

It is just not at all what I expected. It isn’t where I thought I wanted to go, yet it makes perfect sense. But, I still have those doubts… mainly “Why me?” Like it is much too grand and I was just looking for some small role.

A great poem about this topic:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate,
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.
It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.
We ask ourselves who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous?

Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.
Your playing small doesn’t serve the world.
There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people
Won’t feel insecure around you.
We were born to make manifest the glory of God within us.
It is not just in some of us; it is in everyone,
And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously
Give other people permission to do the same.

-Marianne Williamson

Leave a Reply

