Those magical feelings…night sky

October 14, 2008

I love looking at the night sky. Especially during summer nights.

The feeling is very peaceful and comforting. It takes burdens away from your life and makes you feel good about life in that instant, because you are just inconsequential when you see stars at in the sky.

Since young, I have always gazed delightfully into the dark sky, and I can still remember how my grandfather explained to me that bright spark is Jupiter, and that dimmer but conspicuous group of stars is called Pleiades. That fired up my imagination and I told myself to be an astronomer one day. But alas, it was not to be.

Night Sky

Still, I make my chances to go star gazing as much as I can. Last year, I went camping a few friends and away from city lights there is nothing more awe inspiring than a star studded sky in the stillness of the wilderness.

I like to peek at the long horizon with an uninterrupted view of the heavens. As darkness approaches I begin to sense an overwhelming closeness to the mysteries of the universe and a strong connection to the source of all that is. I become aware of an alternate rhythm to life – a rhythm which is so easily lost amidst the frenetic pace of modern living. Everything seems so spiritual when one is away from hustles of the city.

Embraced by darkness, with stars too numerous to count and comforted by the gentle lapping of the waves I begin to realize how much I miss living in a city with its incessant, invasive brightness. It is as if I am rediscovering an enormous part of a lost spiritual heritage..

“Mortal I know I am, short lived. Yet whenever I stand beneath a multitude of swirling stars I no longer tread this earth, but rise to feast with God and enjoy the food of the immortals.”

Sophocles, ancient Greek writer

Leave a Reply

