Positive affirmations

April 2, 2007

While we all prefer life to be rosy and go the way we want it, invariably it never does and situations crop up which are anything but perfect. We can choose to do two things about it either make the most out of a bad situation and accept it or deal with it the best way we can and then shrug it off and let it go. On the other hand we can choose to worry about it or sulk, grumble and moan and forever go around wondering why this happened and protesting what if.

An easy example of how this works could be imagining you are running a marathon for charity, you are getting tired, you ache, and you feel like giving up. As you run instead of thinking how tired you are and how much you ache replace these thoughts with “I can do it”, “I am almost there” or “I am doing this for others”. Simply by changing your thoughts to more positive ones you will find that you get a new spurt of energy, you no longer feel as tired or ache as much. You now have a new strength and more positive outlook to getting there.

Another important factor is to not look into the future with your affirmations, keep them in the present. For example say “I am” and not “I will”. Positivity is also the key; keep your affirmations on a positive note, after all you want to encourage positivity not negativity. The wording you choose for your affirmation should bring about a positive picture in your mind.

Finally, keep these affirmations in front of you as often as possible. This is done in two ways; that which is “seen” and that which is “unseen”. Personally, I have experienced dramatic results with a customized computer program that flashes my affirmations continuously and unobtrusively while I am working or surfing the internet. I also tape a list of my affirmations to my bathroom mirror, in my day planner, car dashboard, etc.

One Response to “Positive affirmations”


  1. These are great suggestions! I’m using positive affirmations too. They work! I’m glad that the recently released book ‘The Secret’ will show many more people how this can be used to get focused and reach goals!


Leave a Reply

